Guillermo Del Toro bringing Michael Shea’s “The Autopsy” to Netflix

Oct.21, 2021

Guillermo Del Toro

Netflix has announced the new and upcoming, Cabinet of Curiosities, originally slated to be titled 10 After Midnight. Oscar winner Guillermo Del Toro has selected 10 stories by different writers for this omnibus series.

Michael Shea’s World Fantasy Award winning novella, THE AUTOPSY, is planned to be the second story aired. Details released below:

“Oscar winner F. Murray Abraham (Mythic Quest), Glynn Turman (Fargo), and Luke Roberts (Black Sails) will appear in an episode written by David S. Goyer (The Dark Knight; Batman Begins) and based on a short story by Michael Shea, and directed by David Prior (The Empty Man; AM1200)”.

Leave a Comment :, , more...

Presenting Mr. Cannyharme, A Novel of Lovecraftian Terror

Sep.16, 2021

Michael Shea - Mr. Cannyharme

Early in his career, Michael Shea wrote the Lovecraftian novel The Color out of Time (1984). He subsequently wrote some of the most scintillating and gripping tales of the Cthulhu Mythos in contemporary weird fiction, including “Fat Face” and “Copping Squid.” These tales mingled Lovecraftian themes with the gritty realism of urban horror, and they often featured drug addicts, prostitutes, and others whom conventional society treats with scorn and marginalization.

Shea wrote the novel Mr. Cannyharme in 1981, and it constitutes a remarkable adaptation of Lovecraft’s early story “The Hound” (1922), about the depredations of an ancient Dutch vampire. In Shea’s novel, Mr. Cannyharme stalks the seedy Mission District of San Francisco in the aftermath of the hippie movement of the 1960s. Holed up in a rundown hotel, the seemingly harmless Cannyharme—aged, feeble, bent almost double with a crippling disease—is the focus of the supernatural terror in the novel.

Jack Hale, who manages the hotel, is one of the few who sense the danger to society and the world that Cannyharme represents. With a motley band of young whores and drug dealers, he takes on the challenge to counteract the horrors that Mr. Cannyharme seeks to release upon an unsuspecting world.

Mr. Cannyharme, written in a vibrant prose that brings to life the multitude of characters that populate the book, is a triumph of Lovecraftian terror, but also speaks of the way in which those who are regarded as the refuse of society can assert their dignity and self-worth in a grim environment. In this sense, it proves to be a novel affirming the triumph of the human spirit over the horrors facing it.

Mr. Cannyharme, in its limited hardcover edition, features Smyth-sewn signatures and an illustrated dust wrapper. Each copy is individually shrink-wrapped. All Hippocampus Press limited editions are printed on 60# white offset paper, acid free and elemental chlorine free.

Order Limited Cloth Edition

  • Limited cloth $45.00 $30.00 pre-publication discount!
  • Edited by S. T. Joshi, with a foreword by Linda Shea.
  • Cover artwork by Tom Brown. Cover design by Daniel V. Sauer.
  • Publication date: October 2021 (limited cloth)
  • Publication date: August 2021 (paperback and ebook)
  • 296 pages
  • Limited hardcover: 500 copies only
  • Paperback and eBook are also available at all major booksellers.

Publisher Weekly review
DMR review
Miskatonic Review

 

 

Leave a Comment :, , more...

Henrik Möller’s “Udda Ting” Podcast: Laird Barron, Marc Laidlaw and S.T. Joshi talk about Michael Shea and his unique work

May.06, 2021

Michael Shea was, and to some extent still is, a hidden treasure for horror, scifi and fantasy fans.

Henrik Möller’s “Udda Ting” podcasts deal with strange stories, creativity and creators. While Henrik introduces the podcast in Swedish, the interviewed authors speak in English.

In this podcast by Henrik Möller we hear from Michael’s author friends Laird Barron, Marc Laidlaw and S.T. Joshi who talk about Michael Shea and his unique work.

Leave a Comment more...

A Quest for Simbilis

Feb.10, 2020

New Life for Dying Earth Sequel!

World Fantasy Award winner Michael Shea’s A Quest for Simbilis is now available in a new edition!

Spatterlight Press released the book on their “Paladins of Vance” label. A Quest for Simbilis is an authorised sequel to Jack Vance’s Dying Earth books.

Fans of Michael and Jack will remember the saga of Cugel the Clever. Cugel was dumped by a winged demon into the northern shores of the Sea of Cutz. Cugel vows to take revenge from Iucounu, the Laughing Magician and sets forth his journey back to Almery…

Order now on Amazon.

Michael Shea - Quest For Simbilis

Leave a Comment more...

Michael Shea’s short story, “Uncle Tuggs” now out in Patton Oswalt’s collection, The Ghost Box.

Jan.28, 2019

“Uncle Tuggs” was first published in 1986 in F&SF Magazine. Since then, it has been anthologized over and again. In this collection, Uncle Tuggs makes his most recent appearance in Hingston and Olsen’s collection, The Ghost Box.
The Ghost Box is just that: a diminutive box full of individually bound scary stories including not only Shea’s work, but also that of Robert Hugh Benson, Stephen King, and Harlan Ellison. Chosen by the editor, Patton Oswalt, “Uncle Tuggs” settles nicely in the box as Shea effortlessly melds horror and humor in this story of a land possessed by a vengeful demon.

Set in the Sonoma County California hills of the 80’s when marijuana was still illegal, “Uncle Tuggs” is a horrific frolic in which the tools come alive to wreak bodily destruction. Shea’s narrative uses his own familiarity with the time, the place, and the life of an honest man working hard labor. At the story’s center is a red-neck hero, the tongue in cheek witness to the destruction of some no-good good ole boys. Laird Barron once graced the humor of the story with it’s own name: Tuggsian. This blend of supernatural revenge and pure backwoods bumbling definitely lives up to that name.

Leave a Comment :, , , more...

Looking for something?

Use the form below to search the site:

Still not finding what you're looking for? Drop a comment on a post or contact us so we can take care of it!